Skip to content

How went the Sunday

February 22, 2010

Breakfast with a guest where we talked of everything from the utility of new media technology to the transcendentalism of Whitehead and Levinas. Also the good points of Jesuit education, which I have to admit has produced some of the giant intellectuals post-Medieval times. Incidentally, the Jesuits were also involved in bringing modern education to former western colonies, including Malaysia, and a Jesuit education has much to offer in terms of systematic organization of knowledge that prepares one with stores to reach out to for critical use. After all, memory work is not equivalent to rote learning. And critique can only come about from inhabiting the ontology of the knowledge you want to critique. This is something I’ve been learning a lot of today.

Then the rest of the day was spent on reading and updating the notes of my Friday meeting in the other blog. Also of course, visiting some science blogs and reading a bit of critical theory. And a nice short nap before venturing back to more reading and evening viewing and discussion of the documentary, End of the Line. There is much of the content of this film and the issues it’s discussing that I’ll like to talk about in the other blog since it’s one of the areas which science studies is very much interested in discussing. There’s a booklet that of the report of the fish industry in the US done by Pew which I’ll like to be looking more at.

Of course, nice ending to the day was a call from a friend from Malaysia who happpened to be on the West Coast, and the discovery of two books I’ve been wanting to read (consciously and unconsciously) while searching for another book. Also, re-examining a book I bought 5 years ago in Malaysia, a translation of the Dead Sea Scrolls, which I never got around to reading due to time constraints and tonnes of other distractions, which I finally can get to in this reading course I am doing. One of the great things about being transplanted so far away from where ‘life’ once was is that I can now rebuild a life that is less cluttered and reorganize priorities. Ironically that I should be saying this as a grad student in the middle of the semester, but I actually have more time than I used to, though in a way that’s different and hard to explain. Maybe it’s because I no longer have to deal with as many pettiness and time-sucking but pointless events as I used to have to, INSPITE of my intense introversion and the fact I’ve never been big on hanging around crowds (literally and figuratively).

It’s going to be a long and hectic week ahead but will be an interesting one indeed as tonnes of events are taking place, including some roundtables on education/academia and a memorial and panel on Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

